Fairies in a jar

Fairies in a jar. USE with Adult Supervision*** Parent or Teacher of Preschool aged children should make it & give child chance to shake & observe. (circle time)
DIRECTIONS: 1. Cut a glow stick and shake the contents into a jar. Add diamond glitter 2. Seal the top with a lid. 3. Shake. ( glow sticks at the Dollar Tree. used a mason jar that I had left over from the Salt Art in a Jar project. )**WARNINGS AND TIPS: “Be sure to read the warning on the back of the glowstick package. The ones I used were nontoxic but will stain clothes. Also, I used glowstick necklaces with the thought that it would be easier to cut than a thick glow stick.”* idea from Beth Brunner Valdepena

This idea was found on Squish Preschool Ideas on Facebook

13 Comments

  1. socalgal619

    How long does it stay glowing?

  2. How long do they last? How do they wash clean? How much glitter do you add?

  3. Kia

    Do you add water too? Or just the glow stick stuff?

  4. where do i get the glitter?

  5. Wendi

    Where do you get the diamond glitter?

  6. Olwen Ruff

    The liquid inside glow sticks is toxic and should not be given to children in a jar that they will be able to open. If you do this please take care supervise at all times.

  7. KMarie

    Yes, how long did this last? I think it would be a gorgeous idea for centerpieces at my wedding, and cheap, too! But I’m afraid with having to put them together before the reception starts they wouldn’t glow long enough šŸ˜¦

  8. Tiffany Belcher

    Do u add water or just the glow sticks and glitter…

  9. Tiffany Belcher

    Ok so I just tried this several times and different ways.can I get a little more exact directions. Just one glow stick and what is the difference between diamond glitter and regular glitter.

    • Diamond Glitter is made from glass rather than plastic.

      So need to be extra careful with it!

  10. I love this idea for camping! My whole family goes camping at least 2 times a year and I could see them loving this idea! I can’t wait to get my 3 nieces involved in this project, thanks for the great post!

Leave a comment